OBEDIENCE.

We’ve heard and nodded to so many sermons on ‘obedience’. But irrespective of the nodding and shouts (ride on Pastor!!) How many of us actually implement it. When it comes to attesting that something is right, we all can raise our hands but when it comes to implementation, there’s hardly any hands raised in the implementation of obedience.

God doesn’t see your nod, he sees your heart(commitment) in carrying out his will.

John 14:15,21: if ye love me, keep my commandments. 21. He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him. God can’t be fooled, we need to stop worshiping him with our mouths when our determination to obey is nowhere to be seen. God isn’t fooled by your shouts of acknowledgement on his word in public. He is concerned about the actions carried out in effect to his word.

James 2:10: For whosoever shall keep the whole law, and yet offend in one point, he is guilty of all. This shows that there no ‘his sin is greater than mine’ or ‘at least I didn’t do that one na, all I did was lie’. Sin is sin, either lie, adultery etc. When we truly love God and really want a deepseated relationship with God, we would be ready to go the extra mile in being broken and contrite to him, definitely not in our own strength, but by God’s grace and empowerment.

1 John 3:22: And whatsoever we ask, we receive of him, because we keep his commandments, and do those things that are pleasing in his sight.

When you nod and shout and give all manner of signs that you are in sync with the message, but then go home and do what is contrary to his will and then you kneel to pray. You are praying in vain. His word has clearly stated that ‘because we KEEP his commandments’ and ‘do those things that are PLEASING in his sight,’ then we would receive.

Disobedience is definitely not PLEASING in God’s sight.

Choose to obey today. Remember: to obey is better than to sacrifice.

Stay blessed.

Author: Victorious Osilama

The name says it all . . .I'm Victorious

Leave a comment